Dr. Mint

DR.MiNT was formed by three Los Angeles musicians, Gavin Templeton and Daniel Rosenboom (trumpets), and Alexander Noice (“guitar and electronics”), who joined New York City’s rhythm section Sam Minaie and Caleb Dolister (“drums”). Their collective synergy towards long-form improvisation created a distinctive sound that they instantly made. Their first album Visions and Nightmares (pfMentum) was actually recorded in two uncut takes, just seconds after Noice and Rosenboom were introduced to Dolister. Dolister is a long-time friend of Templeton and Minaie. A New Symphony (SNP Records) was released a few months later. It is a continuous, single-track improvisation recorded in a five-movement symphonic form. Later, the project evolved with Ritual (ORENDA), when frontmen Gavin Templeton and Daniel Rosenboom combined a series hand cues to start writing melodic material while they were performing and recording. The new approach opened up a new avenue to create a more intelligent recording, as new and repeated thematic ideas drove the music. The band tried short-form improvisations for the first time in their 2013 follow up, Kingsize Sessions (ORENDA). The band recorded the album in a studio, not in live concerts. This was their first album. 2017’s Voices in the Void, DR.MiNT is a new band. from http://orendarecords.com

Leave a Comment