Eastern Rebellion

Eastern Rebellion was formed in 1974, and has been around since then on an irregular basis. The group is a cooperative one with Cedar Walton as the first among equals. Original lineup included Walton, Sam Jones, Billy Higgins as drummer, Clifford Jordan as tenor saxophonist, and Clifford Jordan as tenor. George Coleman had already taken up the tenor position by 1975, when they recorded their first recording. Curtis Fuller, the trombonist, would occasionally make the band a quintet. David Williams, the bassist, was succeeded in the 1990s in the 1990s in the 1990s by Ralph Moore. Bob Berg, the tenor, took over from George Coleman. Alfredo “Chocolate,” Armenteros, the trumpeter, sat in on an 1983 recording. Eastern Rebellion recorded for Timeless Records and Music Masters (in 1990). Their 1975 debut album is definitive. It features Walton’s classic “Bolivia” version. Allmusic

Leave a Comment