Ensemble Nova

Ensemble Novo, a Philadelphia-based instrumental band that features six members, has a reputation for presenting fresh and inviting versions of Brazilian music. Blue Night, Ensemble Novo’s debut album, features powerful versions of well-loved Brazilian classics such as “Berimbau,” Tristeza, and “Samba de Orfeu”. It also includes lesser-known, but equally beautiful works like “Wind”, by Hermeto Pascoal, and “Pr’um Samba,” by Egberto Gismonti. The album features two songs, “Church is Where You Are” (and “Grace Engine No. 1”) were composed by Tom Moon, a saxophonist whose 2011 album Into the Ojala was released by Moon Hotel Lounge Project. USA Today praised the album as evocative “a bygone era in nightlife sophistication.” Jeff Hiatt produced the album, which was recorded at Turtle Studios in Philadelphia. Ensemble Novo invites you to experience the “luxe chill” realm. The dancefloor is now open! CDBaby

Leave a Comment