Globe Unity Orchestra

Globe Unity was founded in autumn 1966, following a commission from Alexander von Schlippenbach (b, tuba), and Sven-Ake Johansson (d). The Berliner Philharmonie hosted its inaugural concert on 3 November 1966. It featured Gunter Hampel’s quartet and Manfred Schoof’s quintet, and Peter Brotzmann’s trio: Alexander von Schlippenbach received a commission from the Berlin Jazz Festival. This core group was further enhanced by American and European musicians over the years: Johannes Bauer (tb), Anthony Braxton, Willem Breuker, Rudiger Carl, Toshinori Koondo (tp), Gunter Chapel (tb), Gunter Christmann, Gunter Hampel, Gunter Haypel (ts), Rudiger Karl (ts), Toshinori Kaondo (tp), Steve Lacy(ss), Paul Lovens and Paul Lytton on one side, and Ernst-Lu (ts, ts, ts), Bob Stewart and Kenny, ts, ts), Heinz Sauer, ts), Bob Stewart and Kenny Wheeler (tuba), Kenny Wheeler (ts, ts, ts, ts), Bob Stewart and Kenny Wheeler, ts, ts, ts, ts, ts, ts, ts, ts), ts, tos, ts), ts, and Bob Stewart (tuba), respectively), The Orchestra is regarded as one of the most impressive ensembles of outside jazz talent since AACM’s big bands. [3] The Chicago Jazz Festival was the final concert of the group’s main life. It took place in 1987. For the 40th anniversary concerts and recordings, Evan Parker, E.-L. Petrowsky and G. Dudek were the saxophone musicians. Rudi Mahall (bcl), trumpeters Kenny Wheeler and M. Schoof played the trumpets. Jean-Luc Cappozzo was the trombonist. AllMusic guide: The Globe Unity Orchestra was established by Alexander Von Schlippenbach (p) in 1966. It was initially formed to perform his composition “Globe Unity,” which was written for the Berliner Jazztage. The initial 19-piece orchestra featured Peter Brotzmann’s trombone trio and Manfred Schoof’s trumpet quintet. It was joined by a group of early European free jazz giants (mostly German) including Gunter Hampel and Willem Breuker as well as Vibist Karl Berger and Buschi Niebergall, Peter Kowald and Jaki Liebezeit (of rock band Can) and Sven Ake Johansson as drummers. Von Schlippenbach was the group’s musical director for the majority of the following 20 years. The first performance was a triumphant and cacophonous success. The group’s membership fluctuated a lot. By the early 1970s, there was more of a British presence with musicians like Derek Bailey, Evan Parker, trombonist Malcolm Griffiths, and Paul Rutherford. There was also Kenny Wheeler, drummer Han Bennink, and trumpeter Kenny Wheeler. Von Schlippenbach left the group for a while in 1971. He returned in the year following. The group started playing outside of Germany more frequently in 1974. This was also the year when more of their music was recorded (most of it on FMP). The orchestra became more free and less dependent on structured arrangements as it evolved. The group has remained silent except for a 20th-anniversary celebration. Text contributed by users is available under Creative Commons By–SA License. It may also be available under GNU FDL.

Leave a Comment