Ikebe Shakedown

Seven-piece Afro-soul band Ikebe Shakedown formed in Brooklyn in 2008, taking their name from a Nigerian boogie album and crafting their own take on updating the sounds of classic Afro-beat and psychedelic soul. The band focused on horn-driven instrumentals and featured trombonist Nadav Nirenberg, trumpet player Jason Colby, saxophonist Mike Buckley, guitarist Robin Schmidt, bassist Vince Chiarito, and percussionists Barnaby Alter and Dave Bouria. Some bandmembers split their time touring and recording with other deep soul revival acts like Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings and the Monophonics, and they were often joined by various players in the scene both on-stage and to fill out the instrumentation on record. The band debuted with 2009’s Hard Steppin’ EP and followed up in 2011 with a self-titled full-length. Ikebe Shakedown have embarked on extensive touring of North America, and the group’s songs have been used in various television shows and advertisements. A sophomore album with slightly more psychedelic production techniques arrived in the form of 2014’s Stone by Stone. from iTunes

Leave a Comment