New York Standards Quartet

The “New York Standards Quartet” is made up of pianist Dave Berkman and drummer Gene Jackson. Tenor Saxophonist Tim Armacost and bassist Yosuke Inoue are the other members. In the fall 2006, Tim Armacost assembled the band. The band, which is based in New York City, has developed a close telepathic relationship through playing in various settings. The NYSQ is a jazz ensemble that strives to create its own language while keeping the best of jazz music alive. A shared love of Japanese culture, food and language further strengthens the bond between the band. The band has already toured Japan four times, and completed its first American tour in March 2008 and again in October 2009. NYSQ’s European tour was completed in March 2009. The group will travel to Japan, Europe and America again in 2010 and record its second album sometime in 2010.

Leave a Comment