In the summer 2009, Reginfirra, an Icelandic quartet was formed. To brighten up Reykjavik’s summertime, the quartet was awarded a grant by the Cultural Fund. Reginfirra started to make a name for themselves in Reykjavik after a few weeks of hard work on their songs, but mostly they were just fooling around with food and drinking. Reginfirra also held a few indoor concerts in local venues where their dynamic music could be heard in good acoustics. The quartet took part in the Young Nordic Jazz Comets in Oslo, september. It shared the first prize alongside the Norwegian trio, PELbO. The band’s name, which is difficult to pronounce, can be translated to “Absolute Nonsense”, and it is most commonly used by Icelandic politicians to express disgust in a sophisticated manner. Reginfirra’s music, while not being very sophisticated on stage, isn’t nonsense. Ingimar andersen (saxophone), Daniel Fridrik Bodvarsson, Kristjan Tryggvi Martsson Frewer (guitars), Magnus Trygvason Eliassen(drums). Magnus and Kristjan are also members of the acclaimed K Trio, winner of YNJC 2008. From bandcamp

Leave a Comment