The Three Sounds

The Three Sounds, also known as The 3 Sounds, was a 1956 jazz trio. They recorded and played with Lou Donaldson and Nat Adderly as well as Anita O’Day and Stanley Turrentine. In 1973, they disbanded. They were known as the Four Sounds in Benton Harbor, Michigan. The original lineup included Gene Harris on piano, Andrew Simpkins and Bill Dowdy, both on double bass, and Lonnie “The Sound” Walker on saxophone. After moving to Washington, the group then moved to New York. There, they recorded a record with Riverside Records. Blue Note was their exclusive agent. The group recorded nine LPs between 1958 and 1962 for blue note. The group toured extensively throughout the country during this time, gaining a large fan base in jazz clubs across America. Limelight and verve also released later Three Sounds recordings. Text contributed by users is available under Creative Commons By–SA License. It may also be available under GNU FDL.

Leave a Comment